How to Get a Resale Certificate in Florida 2024 - How to Start my LLC

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Florida

Written by:

Carolyn Young has over 25 years of experience in business in various roles, including bank management, marketing management, and business education.

Reviewed by: Sarah Ruddle

For over 15 years, Sarah Ruddle has been a noteworthy leader in the business and nonprofit world.

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Florida

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Florida

Suppose you’re starting a limited liability company (LLC) in Florida and planning to sell goods subject to sales tax. In that case, you’ll need to get a resale certificate, or several of them, before doing business. 

But don’t worry; this guide lays out all you need to do to get a resale certificate in Florida.

What Is a Resale Certificate?

If your LLC expects to sell tangible goods in Florida, a resale certificate will enable you to purchase those goods without paying sales tax. This prevents your goods from being double taxed, as you will need to charge your customer’s sales tax when they buy the goods. 

If you purchase goods without paying sales tax and neglect to charge sales tax to customers who buy those goods, or if you fail to sell the goods, you and your LLC will be responsible for the sales tax and could face steep fines. 

If you purposely purchase an item not intended for resale, such as office equipment, and use your resale certificate to avoid paying sales tax, that’s tax fraud, a federal offense. 

In Florida, the penalty is repayment of the tax plus a mandatory penalty of 200% of the unpaid tax. It’s also a 3rd-degree felony, punishable by up to five years in prison and a maximum $5,000 fine. 

Each resale certificate applies to only one vendor, so you’ll need one for each vendor. 

Suppliers and vendors do not have to accept resale certificates. However, a vendor might refuse a resale certificate because if your certificate is invalid, the vendor would be responsible for the sales tax.

How to Obtain a Resale Certificate in Florida

In Florida, a resale certificate is automatically issued when you obtain your sales tax permit. It will be a blank form, and you’ll simply fill out copies for each vendor.

You’ll obtain your sales tax permit through the Department of Revenue.

Once you have the certificate, present it to your vendor and keep a copy for your records.

Does a Resale Certificate Expire in Florida?

Florida resale certificates expire every year when your sales tax permit expires. You’ll automatically receive a new resale certificate when your sales tax permit is renewed. 

In Closing

In Florida, a resale certificate is relatively easy to obtain yet provides significant savings. It will also help you and your LLC avoid potentially substantial penalties. 

Be sure to present the right certificate to your vendors and keep track of expiration dates, so your certificates are always current. You don’t want to find yourself paying sales tax when you don’t have to.