Suppose you’re starting a limited liability company (LLC) in Nebraska and planning to sell goods subject to sales tax. In that case, you’ll need to get a resale certificate, or several of them, before doing business.
But don’t worry; this guide lays out all you need to do to get a resale certificate in Nebraska.
What Is a Resale Certificate?
If your LLC expects to sell tangible goods in Nebraska, a resale certificate will enable you to purchase those goods without paying sales tax. This prevents your goods from being double taxed, as you will need to charge your customer’s sales tax when they buy the goods.
If you purchase goods without paying sales tax and neglect to charge sales tax to customers who buy those goods, or if you fail to sell the goods, you and your LLC will be responsible for the sales tax and could face steep fines.
If you purposely purchase an item not intended for resale, such as office equipment, and use your resale certificate to avoid paying sales tax, that’s tax fraud, a federal offense.
In Nebraska, the penalty for tax fraud is repayment of the tax owed plus a 25% penalty and possibly a $10,000 fine and up to five years in prison.
Each resale certificate applies to only one vendor, so you’ll need one for each vendor.
Suppliers and vendors do not have to accept resale certificates. However, a vendor might refuse a resale certificate because if your certificate is invalid, the vendor would be responsible for the sales tax.
How to Obtain a Resale Certificate in Nebraska
To obtain a resale certificate, known as a certificate of exemption in Nebraska, visit the Department of Revenue website to download the form.
Select the certificate of exemption, download the form, and fill in all the information.
Obtaining the certificate is free; you can use it as soon as it’s filled out.
Once you have the certificate, present it to your vendor and keep a copy for your records.
Does a Resale Certificate Expire in Nebraska?
Nebraska exemption certificates do not expire as long as at least one transaction occurs every 12 months.
In Nebraska, a certificate of exemption is relatively easy to obtain yet provides significant savings. It will also help you and your LLC avoid potentially substantial penalties.
Be sure to present the correct certificate to your vendors and keep track of expiration dates, so your certificates are always current. You don’t want to find yourself paying sales tax when you don’t have to.