How to Get a Resale Certificate in Oregon 2024 - How to Start my LLC

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Oregon

Written by:

Carolyn Young has over 25 years of experience in business in various roles, including bank management, marketing management, and business education.

Reviewed by: Sarah Ruddle

For over 15 years, Sarah Ruddle has been a noteworthy leader in the business and nonprofit world.

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Oregon

How to Get a Resale Certificate in Oregon

If you’re starting a limited liability company (LLC) in Oregon and planning to sell goods subject to sales tax, you’ll need to get a resale certificate, or several of them, before doing business. 

Oregon has no state sales tax, but if you purchase goods for resale from an out-of-state seller, Oregon does have a resale certificate that you must obtain. 

But don’t worry; this guide lays out all you need to do to get a resale certificate in Oregon.

What Is a Resale Certificate?

If your LLC expects to sell tangible goods that you purchase in states other than Oregon, a resale certificate will enable you to purchase those goods without paying sales tax. This prevents your goods from being double taxed, as you’ll need to charge your customer’s sales tax when they buy the goods. 

So even though Oregon has no sales tax, you must obtain an Oregon resale certificate to avoid paying sales tax on items you purchase from sellers in other states.

If you purchase goods without paying sales tax and neglect to charge sales tax to customers who buy those goods, or if you fail to sell the goods, you and your LLC will be responsible for the sales tax and could face steep fines. 

If you purposely purchase an item not intended for resale, such as office equipment, and use your resale certificate to avoid paying sales tax, that’s tax fraud, a federal offense.

In Oregon, the penalty for tax fraud is repayment of the tax owed plus a 100% penalty and possibly a $125,000 fine and five years in prison.

Each resale certificate applies to only one vendor, so you’ll need one for each vendor. 

Suppliers and vendors do not have to accept resale certificates. However, a vendor might refuse a resale certificate because if your certificate is invalid, the vendor would be responsible for the sales tax.

How to Obtain a Resale Certificate in Oregon

To obtain a resale certificate in Oregon, visit the Department of Revenue website to download the form.


Obtaining the certificate is free; you can use it as soon as it’s filled out.

Once you have the certificate, present it to your vendor and keep a copy for your records.

Does a Resale Certificate Expire in Oregon?

Oregon resale certificates do not expire unless the information on the changes. Therefore, reviewing them every few years is a good idea to ensure the information is up to date.  

In Closing

In Oregon, a resale certificate is relatively easy to obtain yet provides significant savings. It will also help you and your LLC avoid potentially significant penalties. 

Be sure to present the correct certificate to your vendors and keep track of expiration dates, so your certificates are always current. You don’t want to find yourself paying sales tax when you don’t have to.