A crucial step in starting a limited liability company (LLC) in Kansas is acquiring all the necessary licenses and permits. Depending on your business, you may need them at the federal, state, and local levels.
Without them, you could face major penalties and even business closure. This guide lays out all you need to ensure full compliance in Kansas.
Which Department Issues Business Licenses and Permits?
In most states, several agencies and departments issue licenses and permits depending on industry and location. For example, in Kansas, the Department of Revenue issues most licenses, while the Department of Health and Environment issues some.
Federally, different departments oversee different industries. As a result, licenses and permits are generally industry-specific, except for health permits from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).
Your business may need a U.S. Department of Agriculture license if you run a farm. In addition, you must register with the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives if your business sells fireworks. Most industries, however, do not require licensing at the federal level.
The Small Business Association (SBA) has put together a handy guide that details which licenses and permits are needed for various types of businesses.
Common Business Licenses and Permits
Here are some standard licenses and permits you may need.
You’ll need to be licensed if a federal agency regulates your industry. Federal agencies that may require licensing include:
- Department of Agriculture
- Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau
- Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives
- Department of Transportation
Standard licenses at the state level include:
- Industry-specific licenses for certain professions and industries, such as construction, plumbing, electrical, childcare, food handling, liquor, architecture, and finance
- Health licenses and permits
- Doing business as (a DBA) permits if you’re using a name other than your LLC name.
- Sales tax permit
At the municipal or county level, you may need the following:
- Building and zoning permits
- Health licenses and permits
- Fire permits
- Sign permits
How to Obtain a Business License in Kansas
In Kansas, a general business license is not required, but other licenses are:
- Unless you’re operating as a sole proprietorship or partnership, you’ll need to register your business entity with the state, usually as an LLC or a corporation.
You can do so online with the Secretary of State.
- You’ll need to register for sales tax at the Department of Revenue Customer Service Center if you sell goods or services.
- Other licenses require applications with specific departments. For example, you’ll need a food establishment license if you run a bakery business. For this, you’ll apply with the Department of Agriculture.
- Check with local governments for required licenses and permits at the local level.
How Much Does a Business License Cost in Kansas?
License and permit fees vary. A sales tax permit, for instance, costs nothing in Kansas, while forming an LLC costs $165 for paper and $160 for online filings. Likewise, fees for food establishment licenses vary.
Do Licenses and Permits Have to Be Renewed?
Some licenses and permits must be renewed annually. A sales tax permit in Kansas does not have to be renewed. Food establishment licenses must be renewed annually.
For other licenses and permits, check with the department that issued the document.
Obtaining licenses and permits is a critical step when starting an LLC in Kansas, so check with state and local government offices and fully comply with their requirements. If you operate without the proper licenses and permits, you could face steep fines or even the closure of your business.
If you’re unsure of state or local regulations and need help, consult a business attorney, as proper licensing is an absolute must.